CTCC celebrates 14th Annual Awards Gala at Hilton Hotel

by / Monday, 14 April 2014 / Published in News

The success story of the Canadian Tamils’ Chamber of Commerce was once again demonstrated when the 14th. annual and colorful Awards Gala was held at the prestigious Hilton Suites hotel in Markham on April 28th.

The Awards Gala is the Chamber’s signature event held every year to showcase the entrepreneur skills of the Business sector among the Canadian Tamil community. The Award winners are chosen by an independent Select Committee and the winners are selected based on certain criteria and requirements.  This year’s event was the 14thAwards Gala hosted by the Chamber while celebrating it’s 21 years  colorful journey. Among the dignitaries present at the function were Andrea Horwath Leader of the Ontario NDP, Rathika Sitsabaiesan M.P. for Scarborough Rouge River, Joe Daniel MP for Don Valley East, Hon. John McCullum MP for Markham Unionville, Dr. Helana Jaczek MPP for Markham Oakridges and Neethan Shan President of Ontario NDP,  Frank Scarpitti Mayor of Markham, Logan Kanapathy Councillor of Markham, Representatives of leading Banks, Corporate firms and other leaders of the Business community graced the occasion. Approximately over 600 guests gathered on the occasion to witness the Awards Gala ceremony.The event began with the singing of the Canadian National anthem followed by the Thamil Thai Vaalthu theme song.

Mr.Mike Ahilan, President of the Chamber welcomed the guests and stated that he was encouraged by the turnout of the younger generation for this year’s event. He remarked that it would be the upcoming generation that would help and support the Chamber’s growth in the future. He pointed out that the Canadian Tamil community has consistently proved that it’s contribution has made a significant impact on the Canadian economy and would continue to do so. He thanked the past Presidents for their tireless efforts in building the Chamber and expressed his gratitude to the present Board members, the Awards Committee, the Selection & Souvenir committees for their hard work  which made the event a grand success. The President paid a special tribute to the Late Mr.Kingsley Ariaratnam, Charter President & a Founder member of the Chamber who passed away early this year. He commented that Mr.Ariaratnam’s contribution to the Chamber will always be remembered.

All the dignitaries who spoke commented on the contribution made by the Canadian Tamil business community in building the  Canadian economy. They expressed their praise for the Award winners who have climbed up the ladder of success through their hard work and determination.

This year’s Award winners were George Chelvanayagam(Most Outstanding Professional Award) Alagaratnam Uthayakumar(Best Entrepreneur Award),Yaso Somalingam(Award of Excellence), Rathi Paramasamy (Best Woman Entrepreneur Award),Thushy Thushyanthan(Young Entrepreneur Award) and Kuru Yogarajh(Most Outstanding Community Person Award).The Corporate Sponsors of this year’s Awards  Gala were Industrial Alliance, TD Canada Trust, RBC Royal Bank, CIBC, Scotia Bank, Law Office of Gary Anandasangaree, Kanish & Partners and Sun Life Financial. This year’s Awards Presenter was Lawyer Gary Anandasangaree. Music & dance recitals were performed while guests enjoyed their dinner. Kalyani Nathan, Treasurer proposed a vote of thanks on behalf of the Board of Directors.

The guests were presented with a copy of a Souvenir titled “Enterprise 2012” which contained valuable editorial content, profiles of the Award Winners and colorfully illustrated with pictures of Chamber events.

Attached are some pictures from the event.

Leave a Reply